It’s been a while.

I’d tell you there’s a good reason for not posting in 7 months, but there really isn’t. I just lost steam on the whole thing, because of how things were going in my life. I wasn’t doing much, and that doesn’t really inspire anything. Things are different now. Namely, I spend my days at work, and have awesome friends. And I am a lot more inspired to bake. But it’s taken me a while to get back to this.

I like to bake for my friends, and I’ve decided I’d like to bake for my co-workers, too. So I’m starting this up again, because why the hell not?

My friend Margaret gave me a new cookbook for my birthday: All Cakes Considered. It combines two of my favorite things: baking, and National Public Radio (which I listen to all day at work).  I barely used it- I made the cookies (from a cake cookbook!) and that was it. Until last a week and a half ago, when I finally made one of the cakes.

So, the goal: bake one cake from the All Cakes Considered cookbook each week. We’ll see how this goes… And I’m starting right before Passover!

In other news, there has been a new addition to my kitchen. I’ve been asking for a stand mixer for my birthday/Chanukah for years (and never wanted to spend the money myself), but it never happened… until this past year.

Soooo excited.

I havent used it as much as I’d like, but I’m changing that now. I’m baking more cakes if it’s the last thing I do!

Just because I’m not writing here, doesn’t mean I’m not using the kitchen. There have been a number of pies, cakes, and breads. I’ve made over a dozen loaves of no-knead bread since I first posted about it.

Here are some pictures of a few of the things I’ve made over the last few months:

Dairy-free ice cream cake for Amandas birthday (I used almond ice cream). Lopsided, yes, but she liked it.

Bagels!

Challah

Halloween cake- a huge success! Black Magic chocolate cake, melted sugar spiderwebs.

Thanksgiving, my favorite holiday. I am, of course, in charge of dessert.

Hamantaschen, celebrating purim a little late.

Rainbow Cake

Four Chocolate Kahlua Pecan pies for Guest Baker Day at work

Tunnel of Fudge cake from All Cakes Considered. Hal's birthday cake.

Other things I’ve been up to:

White water rafting the Klamath River (I was a chaperon)

Another shot of the Klamath River trip- beautiful!

Impromptu trip to Boston to visit friends- they called, I flew out three days later.

Cambria

Climbing in Joshua Tree

One of numerous dinners with friends (this one happened to be Chanukah)

Cahuita, Costa Rica- trip with friends

I also picked up a new hobby while away from blogging: pen turning. My dad has a woodshop and a lathe, and I asked him to teach me.

European style pen, bubinga wood

One of my latest: Sierra pen, circuit board in acrylic. A gift for my friend Hal on his birthday.

Sierra pen, white coconut in acrylic.

So I am happy, and busy, and still having fun in the kitchen.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

