Honey Cake

Shana tova! Today is Rosh Hashana, the Jewish New Year.  The food I associate with the new year is honey- we dip apples in honey (as well as pieces of challah, which is round instead of braided a this time) and wish each other a sweet new year. One of the foods my family always makes is honey cake.

I’m not a big fan of cake, and honey cake is not a particular favorite of mine, but I enjoy it for the holidays. I don’t think anyone in my family really likes it that much, but without fail, every year, on Rosh Hashana we make cake.

I wrote up a post about a cake I made last week, but I’ll be posting that later. Today, you get honey cake for the new year.

This is a very simple cake recipe (and this will be a short post because I have to get to dinner soon!).  Take a box of yellow cake mix, add eggs, oil, honey, coffee and spices. Mix, pour into cake tins, and bake. The yellow cake mix makes things a lot easier. I’m thinking I will try to make it from scratch for Yom Kippur next week, but for now, instant cake!

Dont pour this much in- mine overflowed in the oven!

May you all have a happy and healthy 5771!

Recipe:

Easy Honey Cake

Yellow cake mix

3 eggs

1 cup coffee

1/3 cup honey

1/3 cup oil

1 teaspoon cinnamon

½ teaspoon nutmeg

orange peel (my mother never wrote down how much. She puts about a teaspoon. I actually forgot to put it in mine, but I probably would have skipped it anyway as I don’t like orange peel)

Preheat oven to 350º.  Mix all ingredients together. Bake 45-55 minutes. Do not overbake!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment