No Knead Bread

Well, I’m out of town again. This time I’m in a road trip to the Grand Tetons, Yellowstone and Denver with my mom. But at the point in time when I began writing this, I was stuck in North Las Vegas- the car broke! Driving through the desert in August with no air conditioning is no fun, let me tell you. I have a lot more respect for people who crossed the country in covered wagons.

Anyway, to baking! I love baking bread. My favorite kind to make is challah, but I’m always willing to try other kinds. A friend sent me a link a to Steamy Kitchen recipe, and after clicking around I found a recipe for No Knead Bread that I just had to try (before I left town).

Kneading bread can be tricky sometimes- not knowing when it’s done can be problematic. You don’t want to add too much flour. You don’t want to over-knead or under-knead. I’ve had my troubles with this in the past. So hey, why not try a no-knead bread?

I’ve seen a few similar recipes and they all use the same word to describe this bread: rustic. They all rave about the crust, too. So I decided it was time to enjoy the smell of bread in the oven and eating fresh baked bread!

This is a really easy recipe. The website shows the woman’s 4-year-old son making a loaf, so it looks pretty simple.  And having done it, I agree completely. There are four ingredients and no difficult baking techniques involved.  You mix up the ingredients, cover with saran wrap, and let it sit for 12-20 hours.

Dough after I first mixed it all up.

The dough really bubbles up overnight. I was very surprised when I walked into the kitchen in the morning and found something so completely different from what I left. All gooey and bubbly and sticky. I ignored the thing all day, letting it sit for about 18 hours.

The dough after sitting overnight.

If you’re making this bread here is something to remember: when it says “generously dust a cotton towel flour” they really mean dust it generously. Get flour all over it. Lots of flour. Not piles of it, but a lot. I thought I’d put on plenty and I still had dough-sticking issues.

Look how gooey and sticky it was!

After it rises again, you put it in a pre-heated pot and cook it. The recipe has a section on finding a pot that works for baking this bread. I have this big cast iron pot that I thought would work. It did, but that thing is so heavy, it’s ridiculous. I was afraid I would drop it. But I didn’t. I did, however, burn my arm on it.

Dough in the pot before I baked it. The not-perfect look makes for a more rustic looking loaf.

Loaf when I took it out to remove the lid.

It was really nice to walk into my kitchen and smell bread baking. When it was done, I let it cool briefly, but couldn’t resist tearing off a piece and giving it a try. Mmm bread. Steamy and wonderful and rustic and crusty.

Final product

Inside... mmmmm

I’ll be making this again when I’m home. My mom wants to try it. I might try out a different pot- I’d like to try to make a taller loaf. Also, I read a recipe that said to control yourself, and wait until it cools more… which might not be possible, but I can say I’ll try.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to No Knead Bread

  1. samanthaholiday says:

    This bread was the bomb.

Leave a Reply

