Milano Cookies

Have you ever had a craving for something, but you cant find it in your house? That was me, Monday night. I really wanted Milano cookies. As in the cookies you find in white, tin-lined Pepperidge Farm bags. Two almost-oval wafer cookies with a thin layer of chocolate between. Mmm. Like a crispy little bite of heaven.

Well, I didn’t feel like going out and buying a bag of cookies. It was about 11:30 and most places were closed anyway.  So I did what any other baking fanatic would do- I looked up a recipe.

I love google. Just throwing that out there. Being able to search for a recipe is really handy when you have a craving and a want to bake, especially when what you want to make would not be found in any of your cookbooks (and I assure you, Milanos are not in any of my cookbooks).

I found two websites, both with the same recipe. I’ve decided to include this one because I ended up using one of their recommendations (I’ll get to that later).

The cookie recipe only has six ingredients, but I only used five. I am not a fan of lemon zest (or any zests) so I did not include it. I don’t think the cookies needed that zest, anyway.  The weird thing in the recipe is that it calls for 7/8 cup egg whites.

Um, what?

7/8 cup egg whites? I have never seen a recipe measure egg whites like this. Normally if I need egg whites, it’s one egg white, or two, or three… not 7/8 cup. The recipe says that this is from about 6 eggs. For me, 6 egg whites came out to about ¾ cup.  I decided to be precise and added more egg white until I got to 7/8 cup.  So basically, I ended up needing 6.5 egg whites and was left with 7 egg yolks that I had absolutely no use for.

I didn’t really know what to do with them, so I decided to use google to see what I could do with them (because, being lazy, I didn’t want to look through cookbooks to find things that use egg yolks). This was my search term: “What should I do with extra egg yolks?” Yes, I really typed that. Something like that will generally yield Yahoo! Answers results, and then you get lots of people responding to the question.

So here are some things you can make with extra egg yolks:

–       Freeze them for later use (no help for me in terms of what to use them for)

–       Dessert! Chocolate mousse, or maybe crème brulee, or pudding. But no, thanks, I’m already making dessert.

–       Make some sauce! Could work, but what would I put it on?

–       Bread, mmm. Of course, I have a recipe lined up I want to use, but it doesn’t require any eggs. So, that doesn’t work.

–       Drink it! (Yes, seriously, that was a suggestion. Apparently there are lots of drinks you can have that use egg yolks. I’m going to pass on those).

I ended up freezing them. I need to find something to do with them soon!

So a while back I made cream puffs and didn’t pipe them out of a pastry bag (which was recommended) because I (1) couldn’t find mine/didn’t have any more and (2) the recipe said it was perfectly fine to just spoon them out, so I just stuck with that. Well, this recipe also calls for piping the batter out onto cookie sheets, and I decided to suck it up and make pastry bags.

It’s really not difficult. You put the batter in a ziplock bag and cut off one of the corners. This should tell you how lazy I can get on some occasions (though really, spooning out those cream puffs was totally ok). Anyway, ziplock bags work fine in a pinch and they’re easy and readily available.

Sorry this is blurry. I only have two hands!

So I piped the cookies out onto sheets. But it was tough to keep them the same size. You can see in the pictures, they’re all sorts of sizes. I’m no master with a pastry bag (but I think they’re pretty awesome and fun to play with). The reason I listed this recipe is because it has a recommendation for making the same size: pipe the batter into muffin tins.

They say only just enough to cover the bottom, and I tried to do that, but even the smallest amount I put in was too much, they ended up too thick. So instead of cookies, I had little cakes.

Too much batter in the tins!

If you’ve ever had Milanos before, they’re crispy. These cookies were not crispy! They needed a bit more time in the oven to get to that point. I don’t think that really took away from the cookie experience. They were more cakey and seemed almost bubbly… Next time I make them I will be leaving them in for longer- I missed the satisfying crunch you get when taking a bite.

The filling was very easy to make: semi-sweet chocolate and heavy cream, scalded. If you’ve never scalded cream before, it’s pretty simple. Heat it until it’s almost boiling (little bubbles appear in the cream around the edge). Whisk the cream and chocolate together. My chocolate mixture needed extra heating (I put it in the microwave for a few seconds), but that may be because the cream cooled a little while I was distracted by other things (like removing cookies from the oven).

The cookies were not all the same size, so I went through and did a little mix-and-match. It was like putting socks together after doing laundry. Then all that was left to do was spread chocolate on the bottom of one cookie and put another on top of it.

And voila! Homemade Milanos. Not quite the same, but they were still tasty. Of course, I ended up with nearly three dozen cookies and had no one to feed them to. Luckily, I had dinner with friends and was able to contribute to the meal.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Milano Cookies

  1. Amanda says:

    Wow, those look so good!

Leave a Reply

