Morgan’s Cookies

Morgan’s cookies are named for me, but I didn’t invent them. They’re really called “Double-Chocolate Chip Cookies,” but in my family we don’t call them that.  They’re named for me because I love chocolate, and these (as you can probably tell by the name) are pretty much all chocolate.

These cookies are great because they’re chocolatey, have nuts in them, and they’re really, really easy to make. I think my mom found the recipe on the back of a Betty Crocker cake-mix box, back when I was in high school. She made them for me a lot: snacks at school, packages sent to me in college, etc. Eventually she tacked my name on because it is easier to say “Morgan” than “Double-Chocolate Chip.”

These cookies are really easy to make because you use a mix. Yeah, that’s “cheating” but I don’t really care when it makes great cookies. I’m not above “cheating,” as you probably know from my bread machine croissant post.

I also have no idea how to make these without the mix, so I’ll stick to the recipe I’ve got.

These are really cake-y cookies. Which makes sense, since they’re made from a cake mix. I don’t remember them being this cake-y, but who knows, my memory could be going. Or maybe I just did something a little different this time, though I don’t think so. I kind of wish they were a little less cake-y, maybe I’ll change the recipe up a bit next time I make them.

One note: the recipe says to drop them by rounded teaspoonfuls on the cookie sheet. Don’t do this! You really will end up with 60 little cookies. I guess they’re bite-size. Personally I like them a little bigger. When I made these, I really ended up with 60+ cookies and NO ONE ATE THEM. What am I going to do with 60 cookies? I wasn’t about to eat them all myself. I tried to give them to students and I still had tons left over.

I miss my old roommates. Those guys would eat anything!

Double-Chocolate Chip Cookies aka “Morgan’s Cookies”

1 package Betty Crocker® SuperMoist® devil’s food cake mix.

½ cup butter or margarine, softened

1 teaspoon vanilla

2 eggs

½ cup chopped nuts (use walnuts or pecans)

1 cup semisweet chocolate chips

Preheat oven to 350º. Beat half of the dry cake mix, the butter, vanilla and eggs in large bowl on medium speed until smooth, or mix with a spoon. Stir in remaining cake mix, te nuts and chocolate chips. Drop dough by rounded teaspoonfuls about 2 inches apart onto ungreased cookie sheet. Bake 10 to 12 minutes or until edges are set (centers will be soft). Cool 1 minute; remove from cookie sheet to wire rack. Makes about 5 dozen cookies.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

