A bit about me

So here’s a little about me and my history in the kitchen:

I don’t think I particularly liked cooking or baking when I was younger, though I certainly grew up with a cooking inspiration- my mother is a fantastic cook. She wouldn’t say that (she is too modest, and claims to just “throw things together”), but my family and anyone who has ever come to one of our Thanksgiving feasts or Passover seders would agree with me.

One day (I have no idea how old I was, maybe 12), my friend Margaret was at my house and we were bored. My mom suggested that we make a blueberry pie, and helped us through every step. The crust was from a box mix, the filling was frozen blueberries with sugar and bit of lemon juice.  After that, I was hooked. I don’t know if it was the smell of the pie in the oven, or cutting out the first slice and watching all the berries ooze out everywhere- somewhere along the way I realized I loved it.

My pies have gotten a little more advanced since then.

Thanksgiving is my favorite holiday. I love baking for people, making them smile and pleasing their taste buds. I get a lot of satisfaction from it. It’s just what I do. I bake. I bake to enhance my mood, to calm myself down, to do nice things for people. I enjoy sweating over a stove and next to the oven. The look on your face when you enjoy something I made is worth all the effort.

As I said, pies are my favorite. But I also enjoy making cheesecake, cookies, bread… I prefer baking to cooking, but I can cook, too. I think all sorts of things will show up here.

People told me that I should sell my pies. I don’t know if that would be a good idea- I’d be too afraid that it would stop being fun. The name “Mo’Pies” is the name of my future bakery, should I ever open one up. Mo (no e!) is a nickname

A number of people have also said, “You should start a food blog!” so here I am, starting one. I don’t know how well this will go, but it’s worth a shot.

Other little details about me:

I’m 23 years old. Along with food and baking, I like rocks, climbing things (especially rocks), reading, horses, running, and anything chocolate. I’m obsessed with the World Cup right now. I’ve been waking up to watch the 7am matches, but I really cant manage the 4:30am ones, they’re just too early.

I also enjoy photography.  I tend to take a lot of photos, sometimes as many as 100+ a day if I’m on a trip. This is great because I love having access to those memories, but also takes up a lot of space on my computer (hoorah for external hard drives). I currently have over 10,000 photos in my iPhoto library (107 events), and more that are not in the library.

I am saving up for a DSLR. In the meantime I have a Panasonic Lumix point-and-shoot, and the camera on my phone. All this being said, I am definitely an amateur photographer. I have taken two photography classes, but they were both over seven years ago.

I love photographing food. Which should make this blog adventure more fun because I can photograph my food for a reason other than just for me. Of course, the camera I tend to have on hand most of the time is my iPhone camera, which isn’t exactly the best quality. I’m happy the new iPhone (which I am going to get) has a better camera. Anyway, I’d say that half of the photos in my iPhone photo library are of food. I cant help it!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

